Texas Ophthalmological Association's 2024 Annual Meeting

May 4-5, Dallas, TX

Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center, Level 3, Ballroom D

Saturday, May 4, 2024

10 am

Exhibit Hall & Registration Opens

11 am - 12 pm

Lunch in Exhibit Area

11:55 am - 12 pm

Welcome & Opening Remarks by Moderator

H. Miller Richert, MD, TOA President

12 - 12:30 pm

Physician-Driven Innovation

<u>Guest Speaker</u>: Dan Schwartz, MD Professor Emeritus of Ophthalmology University of California, San Francisco Director Retina Division, SFVAMC

12:30 - 1 pm

Incorporating MIGS into One's Practice & Innovations in Glaucoma Surgery

Davinder S. Grover, MD, MPH

Glaucoma, Cataract and Anterior Segment Surgeon

Director of Research

Glaucoma Associates of Texas

Dallas, TX

1-1:20 pm

John H. and Anna Marie Fish Memorial Lecture: Endophthalmitis

Guest Speaker: Peter J. McDonnell, MD Director of The Wilmer Eye Institute William Holland Wilmer Professor of Ophthalmology Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MD

1:20 - 2:20 pm

The Barry Uhr, MD Prize in Comprehensive Ophthalmology

Socioeconomic Factors and Initiation of anti-VEGF in Diabetic Macular Edema

Arman Mosenia, MD, MSE, The University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School, Department of Ophthalmology, Mitchel and Shannon Wong Eye Institute, Austin, TX

A Gutsy Case of Geographic Atrophy

Debora Lee, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center Houston, Houston, TX

Outcomes of Trainee-Performed Combined Cataract and MIGS

Matthew Gillings, MD, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX

Lens Dislocation Secondary to Panophthalmitis

Naomi Hasegawa, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (McGovern), Houston, TX

Implications of Perioperative Opioid use & Retina Surgery

Asad Loya, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

2:20 - 2:40 pm

American Academy of Ophthalmology Update

Jane C. Edmond, MD

Wong Family Distinguished University Chair, Department of Ophthalmology

Interim Vice Dean of Professional Practice, Dell Medical School

Director, Mitchel and Shannon Wong Eye Institute, UT Health Austin

Professor, Department of Ophthalmology

Professor, Department of Neurology

President, American Academy of Ophthalmology

2:40 - 3:10 pm

Beverages & Dessert in the Exhibit Hall

3:10 - 3:30 pm

John H. and Anna Marie Fish Memorial Lecture: What's New

Guest Speaker: Peter J. McDonnell, MD

Director of The Wilmer Eye Institute

William Holland Wilmer Professor of Ophthalmology

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

3:30-4 pm

Residency Training & the Future of the Physician Workforce

Grace Sun, MD

Associate Professor of Ophthalmology

Associate Designated Institutional Official, Graduate Medical Education

Weill Cornell Medicine

New York Presbyterian Hospital

And

Misha Syed, MD, MEHP

Assistant Dean for Educational Affairs, Office of Clinical Education

Professor, Ophthalmology

Vice Chair for Academic Affairs, Ophthalmology

Tilman and Paige Fertitta Endowed Professorship in Ophthalmology

University of Texas System Distinguished Teaching Professor

John Sealy School of Medicine

The University of Texas Medical Branch

Galveston, TX

4 pm

Resident Awards presented by Surprise Guest

4-5 pm

TMLT - Complexities in Beginning and Ending the Physician-Patient Relationship: When Can We Call It Quits? (Ethics Hour requested)

Dan Ballard, JD

Texas Medical Liability Trust

5 - 5:45 pm

Business Meeting

5:45 - 6:45 pm

President's Reception

Sunday, May 5

7 - 8 am

Breakfast in the Exhibit Hall

7:55 am

Opening Remarks by Moderator

Steven McKinley, MD, Program Chair, President-Elect

8-9 am

OMIC Hour - Lessons Learned: When Safety Protocols Fail

Michelle Pineda

Risk Manager, Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company

San Francisco, CA

9 - 9:30 am

Innovations in Management of Dry Eye Syndrome

Aaleya Koreishi, MD

Cornea Consultants of Texas

Fort Worth, TX

9:30-10 am

Lasers & Beyond in Functional and Aesthetic Oculoplastics

Ying Chen, MD

Assistant Professor

Director of Oculoplastic Surgery

Director of Medical Student Education

Ruiz Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science

McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston

10 - 10:30 am

Evaluation & Treatment of Noninfectious Uveitis

Sam S. Dahr, MD, MS

Mary Farish Johnston Distinguished Chair

Professor of Ophthalmology

Director, Retina Division

Ruiz Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Science

McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston

10:30 - 11 am

Coffee Break in the Exhibit Hall

11 - 11:30 am

Cataract Surgery in Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy (AION)

Timothy J. McCulley, MD

Professor and Chair, Ruiz Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science

Richard S. Ruiz, MD Distinguished University Chair

John P. McGovern Medical School

University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston, Texas

11:30 - 12 pm

Refractive Surgery for Special Needs Children

Guest Speaker: Lawrence Tychsen, MD

John F. Hardesty, MD, Distinguished Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences; Professor,

Neuroscience; Professor, Ophthalmology in Pediatrics, Dept of Pediatrics, St. Louis, MO

12 - 1 pm

Executive Council Meeting with Boxed Lunches